Wonder Woman Volume 1: The Lies Review


Wonder Woman Volume 1: The Lies

By Greg Rucka, Liam Sharpe (Artist), Laura Martin (Colourist), Jodi Wynne (Letterer)

I received a free copy of Wonder Woman Volume 1: The Lies from DC Comics in exchange for my honest opinion.

If you want to check out the other book in DC Comics Rebirth series that I have read and reviewed, click here.

A part of DC Universe: Rebirth!

New York Times best-selling writer Greg Rucka returns to Wonder Woman! After suffering an unimaginable loss, Diana must rebuild her mission as Earth’s ultimate protector and champion. However, in the midst of her grief, her Lasso of Truth stopped working! Start down the rabbit hole as dark secrets from Wonder Woman’s past unravel her present!

From the ashes of DC Universe: Rebirth, critically acclaimed writer Greg Rucka along with illustrator Liam Sharpunveil a tale that will forever alter the DC icon in Wonder Woman, Volume 1: The Lies! 

Collecting: Wonder Woman 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, Rebirth

Summary from Goodreads.

After reading Wonder Woman: Her Greatest Battles (you can check out my review for that here), I was excited to find out how this Wonder Woman was going to be portrayed. To say that my expectations were smashed and I am super excited for the Wonder Woman movie are an understatement.

Lets start with the storyline. A nice and simple story the showcases both Wonder Woman’s fighting skills and her ability to believe in the best of people. Wonder Woman is being confused as to who she really is as she is remembering stuff that has not happened and forgetting stuff that did. This leads her to the jungle and finds Cheetah. Her relationship with Cheetah was interesting. It kind-of reminds me of how I am around my best friend; we both support each other and care for each other but go for long periods of time not speaking (it does not help that she lives in Germany and I am currently in New Zealand). Me and my best friend do not try to kill each other though. How Rucka show Cheetah remembering who she is because of Wonder Woman was amazing well done.

The art was above standard, and at times amazing. My only annoyance, and I seem to be finding this with most comic books, is that the facial expressions do not match what is going on in the story; or they just do not seem as well drawn as the rest of the panel. I understand how hard it is to get facial expressions right but they convey so much of what is going through the person’s mind that they must be done correctly.

My only complaint about this volume (not that it affects me), is that if you are reading this in single issues I can only imagine how confusing this must be. What are issues 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 about? A different storyline, or are they standalone adventures?

Whilst this won’t be for everyone, you should still give it a shot to see what Wonder Woman is all about.


Have you read Wonder Woman Volume 1: The Lies? Do you agree with my review? Let me know your opinion in the comments below!

Check it out on Goodreads here.

Get it on Comixilogy here.

Purchase it on Amazon here.


3 thoughts on “Wonder Woman Volume 1: The Lies Review

  1. Pingback: Wonder Woman Volume 4: Godwatch Review – uncovered-books

  2. Pingback: Wonder Woman Volume 3: The Truth Review – uncovered-books

  3. Pingback: Wonder Woman Volume 2: Year One Review – uncovered-books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.