Top 5 Wednesday – February 22nd

Hi everyone and welcome to another Top 5 Wednesday. This weeks top 5 is your top 5 books to get you out of a reading slump.

I honestly do not have a go-to book to get me out of a reading slump. If I want to get out of a reading slump, I just keeping reading until I enjoy a book. That being said, I do have a rough idea of what books will get me into one (this is why I multiple books at a time, it helps for me at least). So instead of books that I read to get me out of reading slumps, I will list the books that have gotten me out of reading slumps in the past (its kinda the same thing, right?).

  1. Across The Universe by Beth Revis

Across the Universe

This is one of only two trilogies that I love, the other being The Lord Of The Rings trilogy. Even though I read this about 4 – 5 years ago now, I have very fond memories of not being able to put this down after a few bad books. I actually read this in one day! While it may not have the best of writing (I cannot remember what I though of it at the time), I was completely engrossed in this story set in space on a colony ship set for the nearest habitable planet from Earth. The main thing that I loved about this was that it did not involve a love triangle. I hated them back in 2012, I hate them now. Not much has changed.

 

  1. A Song Of Ice And Fire series by George R.R. Martin

13496

This series. Whilst they are very slow reads, this series reignited my passion for reading, and also got me interested in moving away from reading purely YA books. I did only read this series because I was watching the TV show (still waiting for the season 7 trailer), but man am I glad that I read this as well. The diversity and complexity that was put into this is outstanding.

 

 

 

  1. CHERUB series by Robert Muchamore

2158604

I cannot believe that I read this series over 10 years ago now! This was the series that started me away from reading contemporary books. I fell in love with the action and the realism that came with this series. Yes, 9 year old Danielle thought that the government recruited children my age to do covert operations, I regret nothing. This was actually the first series that I went out of my way to read. I own book 3 – 11, as well as all 7 books for its prequel series set in WW2, Henderson’s Boys.

 

 

  1. Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz

1002002

Another book series like CHERUB that has shaped my reading choices. The Alex Rider series is a tamer version of CHERUB which follows 15 year old Alex who lost his parents in an accident about 10 years ago and now become caught up in his Uncles who was looking after him mess. He becomes a reluctant spy, putting his life on the line because he does not really know much better.

 

 

 

  1. Any Star Wars book

23277298

If its a book about Star Wars, it will always get me back into a reading mood. Dark Disciple is one of my more recent favourites that I stayed up until 3am reading because I just was not able to put it down. For me, if I am struggling to get into reading any books, I can just pick up any book from the Star Wars universe whether it is canon or not and find myself reading it at a ridiculous rate and more importantly enjoying it. To be fair, that is the same with movies and TV shows. If I watch Star Wars, I will be in the mood for anything; I even listen to the soundtracks to the movies and I get into the mood for most things.

So those are my top 5 books that get me out of reading slumps! Are you doing Top 5 Wednesday? If so link to your post in the comments! It is always interesting how different everyone’s tastes are! Click here to go to the Goodreads page for Top 5 Wednesday and click here to go to my archive page for all of my Top 5 Wednesday posts.

Until next Wednesday, Danielle.

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday – February 22nd

Leave a Reply

