Top 5 Wednesday – February 15th

Hi all and welcome to this weeks Top 5 Wednesday. This weeks top 5 is your top 5 favourite non-written books.

All of these were a no-brainer. I have only started reading more books that are not novels in the last 6 – 9 months, and I am continually looking for more! It seems that graphic novels are not bogged down by having to describe what is going on in the background whereas that is necessary to in a purely written book.

Honourable Mention:

Robota by Doug Chiang and Orson Scott Card

27778120

Click here for my review of Robota.

Robota is a concept book for what Doug Chiang saw as a feature length film. Orson Scott Card came onboard to write the associated ‘plot’ to it. The main focus is the concept art though. Stunning does not describe what they are. I do hope that we either get more concept art, or a film for this. I also hope that Doug Chiang will make some of these concept art available for purchase as I would get them in a heart beat.

 

My Top 5

  1. Batman Europa by Brian Azzarello

27876500

Click her for my review of Batman Europa.

This is a short 4 issue mini series that forces Batman to work with The Joker. This will not be for everyone, but I love how Azzarello used both the words and images to tell the story (the pictures are almost more important than the wording in my opinion). If you do read this, do not go in expecting the story to be told for you, you will need to see the connections and how the artwork is a key aspect to it (it took me until almost the end to realise how important it was, then I was blown away).

 

  1. The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller

59960

Click here for my review of The Dark Knight Returns.

Yes, another Batman book is one of my favourites. Are you surprised that what is consider the best graphic novel of all time is on this list? It should be on everyones list in all honesty. The Dark Knight Returns was such a  change to the comic book industry at the time (it was published in 1986 originally), that it influenced everyones works. Even though it is an amazing graphic novel, I would say to not read it first. Why? Because I believe that it would be better to read some others first from 2000 onwards like Old Man Logan, and Batman The Court Of Owls; then go back and read it and you should see why people praise it the way that they do.

  1. Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

deathnote

The first manga that I ever read (and the first anime that I ever watched). Death Note has a special place in my heart. Set in Japan, we follow Light Yagami, the best student in Japan who finds a Death Note. Not believing in it, he tries it out and what follows is a story that will break your heart and question how you think.

 

 

 

 

  1. Attack on Titan by Hajime Isayama

attackontitan

I watched the anime before reading this manga, but boy does this deliver. Attack On Titan has such an interesting premise of the world loving within walls to keep these titans out. No one remembers how these titans came to be, or even how the walls came to be. I am now about 3 – 4 volumes behind the manga so I am not entirely sure what has happened recently but with season 2 being released this year, I cannot wait to reread this series.

 

 

 

  1. Old Man Logan by Mark Miller and Steve McNiven

oldmanlogan

Old Man Logan was the first graphic novel I read. Ever. To say that I had a great introduction into reading graphic novels is an understatement. Old Man Logan is about what happens when the Wolverine gets old in a world where the super villains take control. Not for the faint hearted, Old Man Logan is one of the best stories to introduce you into the comic book world.

 

 

 

So those are my top 5 non-written books! Are you doing Top 5 Wednesday? If so link to your post in the comments! It is always interesting how different everyone’s tastes are! Click here to go to the Goodreads page for Top 5 Wednesday and click here to go to my archive page for all of my Top 5 Wednesday posts.

Until next Wednesday, Danielle.

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday – February 15th

Leave a Reply

