Hellblazer Volume 1: Original Sins Review

9041662

Hellblazer Volume 1: Original Sins

By Jamie Delano, Rick Veitch, John Ridgway (Illustrator), Alfredo Alcalá (Illustrator), Tom Mandrake (Illustrator)

Hellblazer Volume 1 collects issues #1 – #9 of Helblazer, and a tie-in story from Swamp Thing #76 – #77.

I wish that I enjoyed Hellblazer Volume 1 more than I did. I found the story very confusing and con stately found myself having to jump back a few pages to make sure I had not missed pages as things seemed to go forwards with no logical flow.

For me, the saving grace of Hellblazer Volume 1 was the artwork. It was very full-on and worked will with the themes that were involved.

At the end, a Swamp Thing story was also included which confused me. It does not fit in with the flow of what was being told before and does not serve much of a purpose.

If you really enjoy Constantine, then you should give this a go but if you are not that fussed then and miss it, it is not the end of the world.

2/5

Have you read Hellblazer Volume 1: Original Sins? Do you agree with my review? Let me know your opinion in the comments below!

Check it out on Goodreads here.

Get it on Comixilogy here.

Purchase it on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

