Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow? Review

17137587

Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow?

By George Pérez, Nicola Scott (Illustrator), Jesús Merino (Illustrator)

Superman Volume 1 collects issues #1 – #6 of the New 52 run of Superman.

I am not going to lie, I am not Superman’s greatest fan. For me, my love is anything Gotham based and for me to like anything outside of that means that it must have been outstanding. Unfortunately, Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow did not do anything to make me like Superman anymore than I do.

Lets start with the storyline, Clark Kent has to fight a foe that he somehow created (not that he knows that) while maintaining his anonymity of being Superman in the modern day. A tad confusing until the final pages but for the majority of this graphic novel, I was left confused as to what was actually going on (and not in a good way).

The art was probably the best thing about this volume. It managed to get across the severity of the fighting across without it having to be explained.

For me, the artwork was the saving grace for Superman Volume 1 and I can see why people have said that the New 52 was not the greatest.

3/5

Have you read Superman Volume 1: What Price Tomorrow?? Do you agree with my review? Let me know your opinion in the comments below!

Check it out on Goodreads here.

Get it on Comixilogy here.

Purchase it on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

