The Jekyll Island Chronicles Book 1: A Machine Age War Review

28396943

The Jekyll Island Chronicles Book 1: A Machine Age War

By Steve Nedvidek, Ed Crowell, Jack Lowe, Moses Nester (Illustrations)

I received a free copy of The Jekyll Island Chronicles Book 1: A Machine Age War for my honest opinion.

The Jekyll Island Chronicles Book 1: A Machine Age War (I will just call it A Machine Age War from this point as that is a long title!) is a graphic novel set in 1918. Even though it is called A Machine Age War, it is not in the way that it would be a machine war nowadays (like with drones). By ‘machine’, it means enhancements to individuals to harness

I am trying to figure out what the point of the story was. I mean I know what the point was, but it just not seem like the point that they were trying to get across. What I took from it is that some of the best heroes are the ones that you would not expect, like that random person that you saw the other day.

For me it jumped around too much. It did not have a logical flow, even though it was written to follow consecutive days. It was only once I had finished reading this graphic novel that I had a vague idea of what was meant to have happened.

I was not a great fan of the art style used in A Machine Age War either. It just seemed to heavy handed and, along with the narrative, made jumps that I had to go and reread to understand what had happened.

Overall I wish that both the art style and the story were easier for me to understand and appreciate what was going on.

3/5

Have you read The Jekyll Island Chronicles Book 1: A Machine Age War? Do you agree with my review? Let me know your opinion in the comments below!

Check it out on Goodreads here.

Purchase it on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

