The Revenant: A Novel Of Revenge Review

22836957

The Revenant

By Michael Punke

I decided to read The Revenant before watching the movie as I wanted to read what happens first before watching it. I have no idea how accurate the movie is to the novel and I can now say that I hope that they made some changes as I have a few points that I wish either went differently or were skipped out all together.

Now I know that The Revenant is meant to be as historically accurate as Punke could make it (yes it is based off a real life story that occurred in 1823), and as he mentioned at the end, parts of the story have been mixed with legend before he wrote this.

I enjoyed the story for the most part. The survival instinct that Hugh Glass showed was outstanding to say the least, and how he manages to survive is a combination of skill, chance and major miracles.

My main point that I found annoying about The Revenant is how quickly the pacing changed from intense action scenes to meandering around doing nothing.

Even though The Revenant did not end how I wanted it to, it is still an interesting read that  most people will enjoy.

3/5

Have you read The Revenant? Do you agree with my review? Let me know your opinion in the comments below!

Check it out on Goodreads here.

Purchase it on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

