Chrysocolla Review

27395877.jpg

Chrysocolla

By B. Kirstian McMichael

I received a free copy of Chrysocolla from the author for my honest opinion.

Chrysocolla is the fourth book in the Chalcedony Chronicles. Click here for my review of the first book, Carnelian.

Click here for my review of the second book, Chrysoprase.

Click here for my review of the third book, Aventurine.

What an excellent way to finish this series.

McMichael managed to conclude this final chapter in the Chalcedony Chronicles very nicely, without managing to make it too predictable. That does not mean at times I did manage to guess what was going to happen, but as a whole I definitely was clueless as to how this story was going to play out.

One of my favourite things about this series, and specifically this book is that each of the main characters grow evidently through the 6 months that the book takes place in. Apart from Logan, each character becomes who they are meant to be and accept their fate.

Logan was my main concern with this series after book 2. I liked that his motives were very shady at the best of times, but I felt like his decline into what felt like insanity was very quick. I understand how McMichael wanted us to feel about Logan, but the way that he was written made it seem like we should just hate him and not get to see the more complex side to him as well as his reasoning.

The way that Chrysocolla was finished, wrapped up the main story  but left open a few key points that I would love to see expanded upon in future novels. Basically I want a collection of books around this series.

4/5

Have you read Chrysocolla? Do you agree with my review? Let me know your opinion in the comments below!

Check it out on Goodreads here.

Purchase it on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

