Paper Girls Volume 1 Review

28204534

Paper Girls Volume 1

By Brian K. Vaughan

I received a free copy of Paper Girls Volume 1 for my honest opinion.

Paper Girls Volume 1 collects issues #1 – #5.

I picked up Paper Girls to see how Brian K. Vaughan writes as I am on the fence for starting his series ‘Saga’. After reading paper Girls Volume 1, it is safe to say that I am going to be picking it up as soon as possible.

Paper Girls started off too slowly for my liking, but issue #4 made me have hope, and issue #5 was just wow.

I absolutely love the colour palette used in this trade, everything has a purple / pink undertone that suits the time period (1988); as well as a drawing style that complimented the storyline.

Like I said earlier, Paper Girls starts off quite slowly and i suspect that if i had read it as single issues I would have given up as the first 3 issues just did not work for me. But as soon as i started reading issue #4, things started to get very interesting and pick up.

One thing I am still trying to figure out is who is the ‘main’ character. Or even if it is meant to be all 4 of the girls are the ‘main’ characters.

Even though I have not read the Saga series, I suspect that if you enjoyed that, Paper Girls will be an enjoyable read.

3/5

Have you read Paper Girls Volume 1? Do you agree with my review? Let me know your opinion in the comments below!

Check it out on Goodreads here.

Get it on ComiXology here.

Purchase it on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

