Superman Volume 1: Before Truth Review

29742129

Superman Volume 1: Before Truth

By Gene Luen Yang

I received a free copy of Superman Volume 1: Before Truth for my honest opinion.

Don’t go into this thinking that it will tie into the DC Cinematic Universe, it does not.

Superman Volume 1: Before Truth collects issues #40 – #44 as well as a 8 page Superman Story from Divergence: FCDB Special Edition #1.

I enjoyed the art style of Dean White. I thought that managed to get across the meaning of the story without cluttering up the page. The colour scheme seemed to changed with each issue, which made sense as each issue had a leap in time from the last issue.

The storyline jumped around too much for my liking, but I was soon able to pick up what had happened easily. I found the concept of Superman not being ‘fully powered’ as we know him a fun one that Gene Luen Yang could definitely have some fun with. Then throw in the threat of having Superman’s alter ego exposed while he is in this ‘powered down’ state made for interesting fight sequences.

I definitely enjoyed this volume of Superman, yes it was not perfect, but it does not have to be to be an enjoyable read.

4/5

Have you read Superman Volume 1: Before Truth? Do you agree with my review? Let me know your opinion in the comments below!

Check it out on Goodreads here.

Get it on ComiXology here.

Purchase it on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

