Gyre Review

vortex in a column of water

Gyre

By Jessica Gunn

I received a free copy of Gyre for my honest opinion.

Gyre made me realise how much I love archaeology (thank you Indiana Jones).

Gyre is set onboard a Navy research vessel, where Chelsea teleported herself onto. She is thrust into a thousand-year-old time-travel war between her ancestors that she never knew that she was related to.

I absolutely loved Gyre. I found the story to be very unique, which can be hard to find sometimes. Although, the romance did feel like it was forced and almost clunky at the start, but it does become more natural as the story progresses.

I do feel like Gyre would be better suited to be a movie. I have no idea why, but it is just this weird feeling that this would be absolutely stunning on the big screen. The writing cannot do justice to some of the scenes that Gunn tried to explain, like what Atlantis looks like. It is just one of those scenes that only a movie could give you the full impact how impressive it actually is.

4/5

Have you read Gyre? Do you agree with my review? Let me know your opinion in the comments below!

Check it out on Goodreads here.

Purchase it on Amazon here.

One thought on “Gyre Review

  1. Pingback: Landlocked Review – uncovered-books

Leave a Reply

